Stylish attitude: NEIMA SITAWI

 Today we want to start a new column in our blog: “Stylish Attitude”, a monthly interview with a style icon, according to our point of view.
Our first protagonist is Neima Sitawi. Neima is a young fashion designer from Cincinnati, who lives and works in Bologna.
Just like many other women (me too..), she is a mother, a wife, a business woman, finally a woman trying to live her life in a precarious but amazing balance.
Her fashion brand “evokes simplicity, style, sophistication and sensuality; behind every piece is a story, a woman and a soul. Versatility and variation are paramount to each design and it is our goal to insure that each women is given a canvas upon which they can unleash their personal style philosophy.
For all these reasons, and many other more.., we think she is our perfect first style icon.

Here is our snip-snap:
WORKING TIME: your perfect outfit?
I very strongly believe that the professional woman does not need to de-feminize herself in order to be taken seriously in the office or board room.  In fact, to me, a confidently dressed woman with harnessed sensuality but strong feminine undertones and structured lines can really show a kind of confidence and controlled individuality that is often lacking in the usually monochromatic board room.  To me, a neutral toned, slim pencil skirt and tailor fit jacket paired with a flamboyant Hermes scarf or a bon ton silk blouse with necktie is the perfect work attire.  Paired with subtle black pumps a great leather briefcase and natural make-up, the entire team will know you are a non nonsense kind of gal.
NEIMA BY NIGHT:
I love to pair something ultra feminine with something ultra severe.  For example a flouncy sophisticated silk top with a very structured high waisted pants (alla Katherine Hepburn), pencil skirt or leather pants.
NEVER WITH:
Fake bling or as Italians call it “punto di luce”.  Anything flashy turns me off.  I borrowed my motto from Leonardo DaVinci, “simplicity is the ultimate sophistication”.
NEVER WITHOUT:
My leather opera gloves, a Hermes scarf or a structured leather bag.
YOUR JEWELS:
very simple pearl earrings (even when I am wearing leather pants) and my simple diamond engagement ring.
YOUR PERFUME:
Eau des Merveillese by Hermès, it came out in 2004 and I have been loyal ever since.  Light, spicy with just a hint of innocence.
WHAT’S IN YOUR BAG:
Hand sanitizer, opera gloves, a juice box, a measuring tape, my iphone, mascara and lip gloss.
SOMETHING I WOULD GIVE MY DAUGHTER:
The Calla (see the photo, courtesy NeimaSitawi Luxury Boutique Fashion), my 1930’s hand embroidered Russian house coat and my painted rabbit fur coat.
NEIMA AND THE SHOES:
I love shoes but it is not my vice.  I have a very expensive collection of shoes I never wear and about 6 pairs of shoes I wear all the time.  Black patten leather flat boots from some shop in London, Christian Dior kitten heels, 8cm black nine west pumps that I got for 80 euros in Bulgaria,  my wonderful neutral 3-toned Alessio Spinelli pumps, amazing pair of black suede and silver ‘florien’ stilettos from Brian Atwood and a pair of chocolate brown suede flat boots from Geox.
NEXT SPRING: your must-have? Something about your next collection SS 12?
Next season I would be thrilled to have a few artful pieces that make me feel great.  I love the feeling of silk but hate clothes that do not have a tailored fit.  I hope to launch (only to my exclusive private clientele) a series of artfully inspired pieces from my favorite late 19th, early 20th century artists from Paris, Barcelona and Vienna….You will have to wait to find out from where I drew my inspiration this next season.
MOM TO BE: which items to be pregnant&stylish?
definitely leggings and fitted long tops.  Pregnancy is beautiful and actually quite sexy.  Show off a blooming decolte and shapely legs by wearing snugly fitted but not skin tight, stretch cottons in black and grey tones.  Accent an open neckline with a fantastic necklace or treat yourself to a Hermes scarf.   I loved wearing little fur accents, cool hats and a large black cashmere pashmina over my legging look…it was classy and sexy at the same time.  My rule is accentuate and cover up at the same time….allowing you to play peek-a-boo with the pancia…now you see it, now you don’t.

5 TOP PLACES IN BOLOGNA:

Daytime coffee shop: Fram on via Rialto by my house.  Wi-fi, amazing desserts, good service and a cozy eclectic and artful atmosphere.
Dinner: I portici hotel, still I have yet to find better international gourmet quality in bologna, via indipendenza 69.
Aperitivo: BoaVista, in via Cesare Battista.
Ethnic: Ristorante Africano for the best Ethiopian food (something people who have lived in big cities tend to miss desperately). Behind the fiera district.
Dessert: Colazione da Bianca, via santo stefano 1: oh my god, the mini cheesecake is wonderfully wicked and sinister!!!
Thanks Neima, see you soon for your next collection, we hope..
Neima’s collections are available at:
4 Comments

  1. I’m now not sure where you’re getting your information, but
    good topic. I needs to spend a while learning much more or understanding
    more. Thank you for magnificent information I was in search of this information for my mission.

    Mi piace

    Rispondi

Rispondi

